Goodbye 2018, and thank you.

Written on Dec. 30, 2018:

This year has gone by insanely fast. This was the first year in three years that I was not in a long-term relationship. I entered 2018 on my own (with lots of love and support). I learned independence, although it hadn’t really gone anywhere and really I just needed to be reminded of it. I am amazed that I have so much love surrounding me.

It was a hard year in terms of learning lessons, dealing with my mental health, and continually learning how to let go of things that are not healthy and do not bring joy.

But here we are, two days away from a new year again. I’m entering this year even with just a better vantage point than the last. Not being literally days out from a really emotional breakup I feel as if I have a little leg up on myself from this time last year. 😉

I am excited for what the next year brings. I am also tired and apathetic at times, because that is what depression can do. Either way, in this moment im choosing to focus on the joy.

I’m not going to do “New Year’s Resolutions” because those never really work out. I am continually trying to better myself, however. I want to try new forms of exercise to be healthy. Eat more consistently. Practice my hobbies way more often. Be gracious towards myself and others. I have a desire to be like Jesus (not who people who have twisted him into to fit their own agenda but what he practiced) a.k.a. LOVE. Serve more. Think of myself less. When I do think of myself, do so kindly. Take care of me. Be strong and quick-witted. Practice RAK (random acts of kindness) as often as possible. Compliment others. Find passions. Be in love, be loved, be love. Be healthy: mind, body, and spirit.


So goodbye to one year of growth. I am hoping to usher in another year of growth, but hoping that this one will be motivated by happiness and love. Wishing you all JOY in 2019!

Published by alivelyjoy

Just here to get some thoughts out!

Leave a comment